The Hawaiian monarchs

Three dynasties ruled the kingdom of Hawaii for nearly a century, starting with Kamehameha I in 1795 and ending with Queen Liliuokalani in 1893.

Sources: Bishop Museum and “The Hawaiian Monarchy,” by Allan Seiden, National Park Service, Image of Queen Liliuokalani from Associated Press; all others courtesy of the Bishop Museum.

Credits: Reporting by Catharine Hamm, Graphic by Tia Lai., TimelineSetter